FHAs and Honors Opportunities in Majors

Home / Academics / Advising and Requirements / Faculty Honors Advisors

IMPORTANT THESIS ANNOUNCEMENT:

The Thesis/Creative Project committee structure varies by academic unit. Refer to the FHA documents below to learn more. Requirements for the number of full faculty members and size of the committee is determined by the academic unit of the Director. Please review: Thesis/Creative Project Committee Structure

The honors experience is fully integrated with the departments and colleges across ASU. Beyond the array of courses and programs within Barrett, students find a variety of opportunities within academic departments for meeting honors requirements, as well as for gaining research and internship experience. There are some discipline-specific special programs that provide Barrett students with unique opportunities relative to their major and in some cases their graduate degree interest. We have highlighted some of them here, but Barrett students may select any major at ASU.

If your major isn’t highlighted below, contact the appropriate Faculty Honors Advisor to learn about special opportunities in the department.

PLEASE NOTE: Some majors have more than one FHA, but multiple FHAs per major aren't displayed on this list. Please click on a major to see all of its details, including multiple FHAs (if applicable).

Majorsort descending Campus School / College Faculty Honors Advisor FHA Email Phone Download Guidelines
Accounting Tempe W.P. Carey School of Business Nancy Cassidy Nancy.Cassidy@asu.edu 480-965-6679 PDF icon Download (4.61 MB)
Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering Tempe Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering Valana Wells valana@asu.edu 480-965-4777 PDF icon Download (86.95 KB)
American Indian Studies Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Simon Ortiz Simon.Ortiz@asu.edu 480-965-7999
Anthropology (Human Evolution and Social Change) Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Ian Gilby Ian.Gilby@asu.edu 480-965-3807 PDF icon Download (166.84 KB)
Applied Science & Math Polytechnic College of Integrative Sciences and Arts Kelly Steele Kelly.Steele@asu.edu 480-727-1204 PDF icon Download (289.85 KB)
Architecture Tempe Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts Joe Pritchard Joseph.W.Pritchard@asu.edu (602) 751-2543 PDF icon Download (382.73 KB)
Art Tempe Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts Heather Green Heather.J.Green@asu.edu 480.727.3489 PDF icon Download (79.72 KB)
Art History and Museum Studies Tempe Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts Julie Codell julie.codell@asu.edu 480-965-3400 PDF icon Download (136.24 KB)
Asian Pacific American Studies Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Karen Kuo Karen.Kuo@asu.edu 480-965-9121
Aviation Polytechnic Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering Mary Niemczyk mary.niemczyk@asu.edu 480-727-1595 PDF icon Download (296 KB)
Biomedical Engineering Tempe Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering Christopher Buneo christopher.buneo@asu.edu 480-727-0841 PDF icon Download (487.06 KB)
Biomedical Informatics Downtown College of Health Solutions Robert Greenes greenes@asu.edu PDF icon Download (83.53 KB)
Business BA Programs Tempe W.P. Carey School of Business Rudy Pino Rudy.Pino@asu.edu 480.965.0453 PDF icon Download (4.61 MB)
Chemical Engineering Tempe Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering Lenore Dai lenore.dai@asu.edu 480-965-4112 PDF icon Download (339.67 KB)
Chemistry, Biochemistry, Medicinal Chemistry Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Kevin Redding Kevin.Redding@asu.edu 480-965-0136 PDF icon Download (135.58 KB)
Civil, Environmental and Sustainable Engineering Tempe Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering Michael Mamlouk mamlouk@asu.edu 480-965-2892 PDF icon Download (246.94 KB)
Community Sports Management, School of Community Resources and Development Downtown Community Resources and Development Lili Wang Lili.Wang@asu.edu 602-496-2022 PDF icon Download (302.59 KB)
Computer Information Systems/Business Data Analytics Tempe W.P. Carey School of Business Matt Sopha msopha@asu.edu 480-965-0959 PDF icon Download (4.61 MB)
Computer Science, Computer Systems Engineering, and Informatics Tempe Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering Mutsumi Nakamura mutsumi@asu.edu 480-965-1757 PDF icon Download (687.7 KB)
Construction Engineering Tempe Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering Samuel Ariaratnam Samuel.Ariaratnam@asu.edu 480.965.7399 PDF icon Download (130.13 KB)
Construction Management Tempe Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering Kenneth Sullivan kenneth.sullivan@asu.edu 480-965-4213 PDF icon Download (13.11 KB)
Criminology and Criminal Justice Downtown College of Public Service & Community Solutions Hank Fradella Hank.Fradella@asu.edu 602-496-0237 PDF icon Download (230.33 KB)
Dance Tempe Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts Robert Kaplan ROBERT.KAPLAN@asu.edu 480-965-3014 File Download (15.19 KB)
Design Tempe Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts William Heywood william.heywood@asu.edu 480-236-6114 PDF icon Download (382.73 KB)
Digital Culture Tempe Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts Stacey Moran moran.nocek@asu.edu PDF icon Download (267.16 KB)
Economics Tempe W.P. Carey School of Business Fernando Leiva-Bertran fernando.leivabertran@asu.edu 480.965.2997 PDF icon Download (4.61 MB)
Economics Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Fernando Leiva-Bertran fernando.leivabertran@asu.edu 480-965-2997 PDF icon Download (5.08 MB)
Education (Polytechnic) Polytechnic Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College Juliet Hart Barnett Juliet.Hart@asu.edu 480-727-3263 PDF icon Download (322.25 KB)
Education (Tempe) Tempe Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College Juliet Hart Barnett Juliet.Hart@asu.edu 480-727-3263 PDF icon Download (322.25 KB)
Education (West) West Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College Juliet Hart Barnett Juliet.Hart@asu.edu 480.727.3263 PDF icon Download (322.25 KB)
Electrical Engineering Tempe Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering James Aberle aberle@asu.edu 480-965-8588 PDF icon Download (456.17 KB)
Engineering Polytechnic Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering Micah Lande Micah.Lande@asu.edu 480-727-1063 PDF icon Download (169.13 KB)
Engineering Management Tempe Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering Daniel McCarville Daniel.McCarville@asu.edu 480-727-7674 PDF icon Download (93.77 KB)
English: Creative Writing Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Sally Ball Sally.Ball@asu.edu 480-965-5829 PDF icon Download (23.01 KB)
English: Linguistics Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Kathryn Pruitt Kathryn.Pruitt@asu.edu PDF icon Download (478.02 KB)
English: Literature Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Claudia Sadowski-Smith claudia.sadowski-smith@asu.edu 480-965-7660 PDF icon Download (304.91 KB)
Environmental & Resource Management Polytechnic Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering Kiril Hristovski Kiril.Hristovski@asu.edu 480-727-1291 PDF icon Download (81.27 KB)
Environmental Design Tempe Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts Elena Rocchi Elena.Rocchi@asu.edu
Exercise and Wellness Downtown College of Health Solutions Marc Adams marc.adams@asu.edu 602.827-2470 PDF icon Download (601.3 KB)
Family and Human Development Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Tracy Spinrad tspinrad@asu.edu 480-727-7925 PDF icon Download (45.99 KB)
Film and Media Studies Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Aaron Baker aaron.baker@asu.edu 480-965-0651 PDF icon Download (295.09 KB)
Finance Tempe W.P. Carey School of Business Mark Simonson Mark.Simonson@asu.edu 480.965.0613 PDF icon Download (4.61 MB)
General Inquiries (Exploratory) Downtown All Schools Craig Allen callen@asu.edu 602-496-2857
General Inquiries (Exploratory) West All Schools Ramsey Eric Ramsey rer@asu.edu 602-543-4229
General Inquiries (Exploratory) Polytechnic All Schools Mark Henderson mark.henderson@asu.edu 480-727-1062
General Inquiries (Exploratory) Tempe All Schools
Geography (School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning) Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Kelli Larson kelli.larson@asu.edu 480-727-3606 PDF icon Download (1.06 MB)
Global Health/Applied Math for Life & Social Sciences Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Megan Jehn Megan.Jehn@asu.edu 480-965-4730 PDF icon Download (34.44 KB)
Global Management West Mary Sully de Luque Mary.Sullydeluque@thunderbird.asu.edu 602-978-7382
Global Studies Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences George Thomas George.Thomas@asu.edu 480-965-6551 PDF icon Download (83.18 KB)
Graphic Design Tempe Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts Alfred C. Sanft asanft@asu.edu 480-965-3238 PDF icon Download (382.73 KB)
Graphic Information and Technology Polytechnic Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering Penny Dolin pd@asu.edu 480-727-1324 PDF icon Download (74.64 KB)
Health Education/Promotion Downtown College of Health Solutions Marc Adams marc.adams@asu.edu 602.827-2470 PDF icon Download (222.76 KB)
Health Sciences Downtown College of Health Solutions Mike Collins Michael.Collins.4@asu.edu PDF icon Download (222.76 KB)
History Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Linh Vu linhvu@asu.edu 480.965.5778 PDF icon Download (252.52 KB)
Human Communication Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Pauline Cheong Pauline.Cheong@asu.edu 480-965-8730 PDF icon Download (631.08 KB)
Industrial and Organizational Psychology & Human Systems Engineering Polytechnic Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering Scotty Craig Scotty.Craig@asu.edu 480-727-1006 PDF icon Download (220.36 KB)
Industrial Design Tempe Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts Dosun Shin Dosun.Shin@asu.edu 480-965-7816 PDF icon Download (382.73 KB)
Industrial Engineering Tempe Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering Esma Gel esma.gel@asu.edu 480-965-2906 PDF icon Download (93.53 KB)
Integrative Sciences (All Majors) Downtown College of Integrative Sciences and Arts Adina (Cheree) Carlson cheree.carlson@asu.edu 602-496-2093 PDF icon Download (201.7 KB)
Integrative Sciences Poly (All Non-Applied Majors) Polytechnic College of Integrative Sciences and Arts Patricia Murphy pcm@asu.edu 480-206-5404 PDF icon Download (409.21 KB)
Interdisciplinary Studies (BIS)/Liberal Studies/Organizational Leadership Tempe College of Integrative Sciences and Arts Denise Bates Denise.Bates@asu.edu 480-965-4508 PDF icon Download (97.62 KB)
Interior Design Tempe Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts Jose Bernardi jose.bernardi@asu.edu 480-965-9140 PDF icon Download (382.73 KB)
International Letters and Cultures (Classics) Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Almira Poudrier almira.poudrier@asu.edu 602-738-5784
Journalism Downtown Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication A-C: Senior Associate Dean Kristin Gilger Kristin.Gilger@asu.edu 602-496-9448 PDF icon Download (117.32 KB)
Justice and Social Inquiry Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Pat Lauderdale Pat.Lauderdale@asu.edu (480) 965-7682 PDF icon Download (204.67 KB)
Kinesiology Downtown College of Health Solutions Jennifer Huberty jennifer.huberty@asu.edu 602.827.2456 PDF icon Download (312.49 KB)
Landscape Architecture Tempe Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts Paul Coseo Paul.Coseo@asu.edu PDF icon Download (382.73 KB)
Language: Chinese Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Young Oh youngoh@asu.edu 480-727-7447 PDF icon Download (33.3 KB)
Language: French Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Frederic Canovas Frederic.Canovas@asu.edu 480-965-3382 PDF icon Download (83.94 KB)
Language: German Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Carla Ghanem Carla.Ghanem@asu.edu PDF icon Download (89.77 KB)
Language: Italian Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Chiara dal Martello chiara.dm@asu.edu 480-965-6281
Language: Japanese Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Koji Tanno ktanno@asu.edu PDF icon Download (24.52 KB)
Language: Russian Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Danko Sipka danko.sipka@asu.edu 480-965-5210 PDF icon Download (115.16 KB)
Language: Spanish Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences David William Foster DAVID.FOSTER@asu.edu 480.965.3752 PDF icon Download (260.69 KB)
Management & Business Entrepreneurship Tempe W.P. Carey School of Business Jim Moore James.H.Moore@asu.edu 480.965.3230 PDF icon Download (4.61 MB)
Marketing/Sports Business Tempe W.P. Carey School of Business John Eaton John.Eaton@asu.edu 480-965-2938 PDF icon Download (4.61 MB)
Materials Science Tempe Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering Nikhilesh Chawla Nikhilesh.Chawla@asu.edu 480-965-2402 PDF icon Download (93.84 KB)
Math and Natural Sciences West New College Chad Johnson jchadwick@asu.edu 602-543-6524 PDF icon Download (195.97 KB)
Mathematics, Statistics & Actuarial Science (SoMSS) Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Nancy Childress nc@asu.edu 480-965-6504 PDF icon Download (220.45 KB)
Medical Studies Downtown College of Health Solutions Adrienne White Adrienne.R.White@asu.edu PDF icon Download (1.21 MB)
Medical Studies - West West College of Health Solutions Alison Essary alison.essary@asu.edu 602-496-0843 PDF icon Download (1.21 MB)
Music Tempe Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts Sabine Feisst Sabine.Feisst@asu.edu 480-965-3114 PDF icon Download (124.65 KB)
Non-Profit Leadership and Management Downtown College of Public Service & Community Solutions Gordon Shockley gordon.shockley@asu.edu 602-496-0174 PDF icon Download (302.59 KB)
Nursing & Health Science Programs Downtown College of Nursing and Health Innovation Carol Stevens Carol.Stevens@asu.edu 602-496-2215 PDF icon Download (221.96 KB)
Nutrition Downtown College of Health Solutions Karen Sweazea Karen.Sweazea@asu.edu 480.965.6025 PDF icon Download (97.18 KB)
Parks and Recreation Management Downtown College of Public Service & Community Solutions Lili Wang lili.wang@asu.edu 602-496-2022 PDF icon Download (302.59 KB)
Philosophy Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Thad Botham thad.botham@asu.edu 480.329.8159 PDF icon Download (84.88 KB)
Physics Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Ralph Chamberlin ralph.chamberlin@asu.edu 480-965-3922 PDF icon Download (106.47 KB)
Political Science Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Avital Simhony SIMHONY@asu.edu 480-727-8189 PDF icon Download (640.15 KB)
Poly W.P. Carey School of Business Polytechnic W.P. Carey School of Business Troy Schmitz Troy.Schmitz@asu.edu 480-727-1566 PDF icon Download (77.89 KB)
Psychology Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Clark Presson presson@asu.edu 480-965-1617 File Download (24.54 KB)
Psychology - West West New College Jessica Salerno Jessica.Salerno@asu.edu PDF icon Download (137.7 KB)
Public Health Downtown College of Health Solutions Marc Adams marc.adams@asu.edu 602-827-2470 PDF icon Download (679.93 KB)
Public Service and Public Policy Downtown College of Public Service & Community Solutions TBA PDF icon Download (105.94 KB)
Religious Studies Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Gaymon Bennett gaymon.bennett@asu.edu PDF icon Download (42.86 KB)
School of Earth and Space Exploration (Earth & Space Exploration, Earth & Environmental Studies, Geological Studies) Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Hilairy Hartnett h.hartnett@asu.edu 480-965-5593 PDF icon Download (598.01 KB)
School of Humanities, Arts, and Cultural Studies West New College Francine McGregor Francine.McGregor@asu.edu PDF icon Download (111.75 KB)
Science of Health Care Delivery Downtown College of Health Solutions Swapna Reddy Swapna.Reddy@asu.edu 602.496.0878 PDF icon Download (148.27 KB)
Social and Behavioral Sciences at West West New College Jeffrey W. Kassing jkassing@asu.edu 602.543.6631 PDF icon Download (176.75 KB)
Social Work Downtown College of Public Service & Community Solutions Dominique Roe-Sepowitz Dominique-Roe@asu.edu 602-496-0093 PDF icon Download (185.93 KB)
Sociology Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Tracy Spinrad tspinrad@asu.edu 480-727-7925 PDF icon Download (45.99 KB)
Software Engineering Polytechnic Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering Ashraf Gaffar Ashraf.Gaffar@asu.edu 480-727-5103 PDF icon Download (347.12 KB)
SOLS Biology and Society Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Jane Maienschein maienschein@asu.edu 480-965-6105 PDF icon Download (562.34 KB)
SOLS Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Kevin McGraw kevin.mcgraw@asu.edu 480-965-5518 PDF icon Download (562.34 KB)
SOLS: Biological Sciences Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Sharon Hall sharonjhall@asu.edu 480.965.5650 PDF icon Download (562.34 KB)
SOLS: Biomedical Sciences Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences David Capco dcapco@asu.edu 480-965-7011 PDF icon Download (562.34 KB)
SOLS: Conservation Biology Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences James Collins jcollins@asu.edu 480-965-4578 PDF icon Download (562.34 KB)
SOLS: Genetics, Cell and Developmental Biology Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Stephen Pratt Stephen.Pratt@asu.edu 480-727-9425 PDF icon Download (562.34 KB)
SOLS: Microbiology Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Shelley Haydel Shelley.Haydel@asu.edu 480-727-7234 PDF icon Download (562.34 KB)
SOLS: Microbiology (Medical Microbiology) Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Shelley Haydel Shelley.Haydel@asu.edu 480-727-7234 PDF icon Download (562.34 KB)
SOLS: Molecular Biosciences and Biotechnology Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Tsafrir Mor tsafrir.mor@asu.edu 480-727-7405 PDF icon Download (562.34 KB)
Speech and Hearing Science Tempe College of Health Solutions Tamiko Azuma tamiko.azuma@asu.edu 480-965-9455 PDF icon Download (250.87 KB)
Supply Chain Management Tempe W.P. Carey School of Business Adegoke Oke Adegoke.Oke@thunderbird.asu.edu 480-965-3105 PDF icon Download (4.61 MB)
Sustainability Tempe School of Sustainability Michael Schoon Michael.Schoon@asu.edu 480-965-0919 PDF icon Download (250.14 KB)
TCL Transborder Studies Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Lisa Magana Lisa.Magana@asu.edu 480.965.8473 PDF icon Download (446.62 KB)
Technological Entrepreneurship and Management (TEM) Polytechnic Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering Steve Cho steve.cho@asu.edu PDF icon Download (68.85 KB)
The Arts (BA)/Design Studies (BA) Tempe Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts William Heywood WILLIAM.HEYWOOD@asu.edu 480-894-6231 PDF icon Download (72.98 KB)
Theatre and Film Tempe Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts Oscar Giner giner@asu.edu 480-965-2689 PDF icon Download (212.79 KB)
Tourism Development and Management Downtown College of Public Service & Community Solutions Lili Wang lili.wang@asu.edu 602-496-2022 PDF icon Download (302.59 KB)
Urban & Metropolitan Studies Downtown College of Public Service & Community Solutions PDF icon Download (93.97 KB)
Urban Planning Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences David King David.A.King@asu.edu 480-965-2055 PDF icon Download (801.36 KB)
Women's Studies Tempe College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Sujey Vega sujey.vega@asu.edu 480.727.6173 PDF icon Download (104.56 KB)