Centennial Lecture


Barrett, The Honors College will be hosting Common as the 2021 Flinn Foundation Centennial Lecturer.

Event Details:

Monday, November 15th, 2021

Keynote | 7:00-7:45pm
Q&A | 7:45-8:15pm


Arizona Ballroom at the ASU Memorial Union

Register Here: https://na.eventscloud.com/ereg/newreg.php?eventid=643528

Tickets are free


Speaker Biogrpahy
COMMON, hip hop artist and actor, is one Tony Award away from becoming an EGOT—Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, Tony—winner. And that’s not counting his Golden Globe or any of the other numerous awards he’s won. Throughout his career he has used his art as a platform to change people’s perspectives, promote more diverse narratives, and encourage people to movement. At the podium, Common motivates audiences to nurture the dreams of the young, overcome adversity, and address the persistent hope that lives within us all. Compassionate, mindful, and driven to inspire, Common reminds audiences that we all have a voice—and we must speak out.

History of the Flinn Foundation Centennial Lecture

In 1985, the Flinn Foundation established an endowment to commemorate the University’s 100th year. The gift created the ASU Centennial Lecture, and in 1989 it provided the Barrett Honors College the resources to bring some of the world’s most influential intellects to campus.

In just a few short years, the Centennial Lecture has become one of ASU’s premiere intellectual events featuring noted diplomats, scientists, playwrights, and authors. Each of the women and men chosen as the Centennial Lecturer has added significantly to the strength of the University, and each has provided students and members of the community with a memorable experience.

Year Presenter Title
2020 Roxane Gay
2019 Jose Antonio Vargas
2018 Norah O'Donnell
2017 Titus Kaphar
2016 Henry Cisneros
2015 Sherman Alexie
2014 Sandra Postel
2013 Michael Pollan
2012 Sylvia Nasar
2011 Oscar Arias
2010 Edward James Olmos
2009 Joel Meyerowitz
2008 Leonard Downie, Jr
2007 Anna Quindlen
2006 Jules Feiffer