Centennial Lecture

2019 Centennial Lecture September 18th with Jose Antonio Vargas

Image result for jose antonio vargas

Jose Antonio Vargas

Barrett, The Honors College will be hosting Jose Antonio Vargas as the 2019 Flinn Foundation Centennial Lecturer featuring his keynote titled “Define American: My Life as an Undocumented Immigrant”. 

The lecture will be taking place on Thursday, September 19th 7:30 p.m. at the Tempe Center for the Arts.

Click Here for Tickets!

(Tickets are free, but service charges may apply). 

Speaker Biogrpahy
Jose Antonio Vargas is a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist, Emmy-nominated filmmaker, and theatrical producer. A leading voice for the human rights of immigrants, he founded the non-profit media and culture organization Define American, named one of the World’s Most Innovative Companies by
Fast Company. His best-selling memoir, Dear America: Notes of an Undocumented Citizen, was published by HarperCollins in 2018. Most recently, he co-produced Heidi Schreck’s acclaimed play What the Constitution Means to Me which opened on Broadway in spring 2019.




History of the Flinn Foundation Centennial Lecture

In 1985, the Flinn Foundation established an endowment to commemorate the University’s 100th year. The gift created the ASU Centennial Lecture, and in 1989 it provided the Barrett Honors College the resources to bring some of the world’s most influential intellects to campus.

In just a few short years, the Centennial Lecture has become one of ASU’s premiere intellectual events featuring noted diplomats, scientists, playwrights, and authors. Each of the women and men chosen as the Centennial Lecturer has added significantly to the strength of the University, and each has provided students and members of the community with a memorable experience.

Year Presenter Title
2004 Edward Albee
2003 Charles Johnson
2002 David Halberstam
2001 Meave Leakey
2001 N. Scott Momaday
2000 Jonathan Weiner
1999 Carlos Fuentes
1998 Annie Dillard
1997 James Fallows
1996 Stephen J. Gould
1995 Sir Crispin Tickell
1994 Lynn Margulis
1992 Susan Sontag
1991 Robert Coles
1990 Robert Coles